• Booktastically Amazing

The Hawthorne Legacy (Book Review)

(The Inheritance Games #2)

by Jennifer Lynn Barnes


If only I could be a multimillionaire surrounded by cute guys and a treasure hunt everywhere I looked... without actually working for it...


Spoiler Free- Synopsis:


Intrigue, riches, and romance abound in this thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Inheritance Games perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.


The Inheritance Games ended with a bombshell, and now heiress Avery Grambs has to pick up the pieces and find the man who might hold the answers to all of her questions - including why Tobias Hawthorne left his entire fortune to Avery, a virtual stranger, rather than to his own daughters or grandsons.


Thanks to a DNA test, Avery knows that she's not a Hawthorne by blood, but clues pile up hinting at a deeper connection to the family than she had ever imagined. As the mystery grows and the plot thickens, Grayson and Jameson, the enigmatic and magnetic Hawthorne grandsons, continue to pull Avery in different directions. And there are threats lurking around every corner, as adversaries emerge who will stop at nothing to see Avery out of the picture - by any means necessary.


With nonstop action, aspirational jet-setting, family intrigue, swoonworthy romance, and billions of dollars hanging in the balance, The Hawthorne Legacy will thrill Jennifer Lynn Barnes fans and new readers alike.


*me waiting to get an inheritance*

I am staring at the wall in a constipated bliss of acceptance. Sighing out dramatic mouthfuls of oxygen as I watch my TBR lean longingly over my head.


Because how could this book have gotten any better?


Rating: 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽 4.5 (I am in literal cranial pain)

See, there are some authors who are great.

They’re awesome.


They know how to write. But after the first book, they just um… get, uh, slightly worse with time. Their books falter in perfection until there’s nothing left but disappointment and rants.


And I thought this would happen with this book. I thought the world would end before I loved a second book (ahem, second book syndrome, anyone?) more than the first one, because it has not happened very much.


But it didn’t. And I’m furious about it, because what’s next after this?!!? How many people will come back from the dead?? How many more times will my voice be able to scream about hot tub scenes?!?


The answer is literally never. I will never stop screaming about steamy scenes taken in the setting of a hot tub. Pun intended.


It’s been a wonderful while since I read this book. Maybe it was because I procrastinated once again, or maybe it was because I was abducted by aliens and yeah, I couldn’t write the review. I’ll just give the excuse that I didn’t know how to express my feelings. I never do, to be honest, but I like to have a clear head when writing reviews- said no one ever. Alright, alright, I was still holding out hope that I would know the proper ways of committing murder to a certain family member for their annoyingness in this book. Happy?


The plot of this book gets freaking 5 stars. Hands down, feet down, bloody gown down. Basically everything down, minus masks of course, COVID and all. As always I tried guessing, I really REALLY tried guessing. I even tried to sneak a peek to the next chapter-


FBI OPEN UP, THIS IS A CRIME


Oh, hold your wigs, I just needed to know if I would end up destroyed or not. I have some preservation skills, alright? I still have some. I was surprised countless times with the ever loving, head decapitating, squeal inducing, rant negating twists this book decided to punch me with. I don’t have a black eye only, no. I have a black eye, several broken ribs, a problem with my heart, maybe a sprained ankle, broken knee and a spine that won’t stop bowing under the pressure of perfection.


Yes, all that.


Alllll of that.

To be clear, I liked the previous book. I even, dare say, dreamed about it for about two times before I found another obsession. Sadly, I didn’t luuurvveeee it. But this one? It came pretty darn close to my love scale. Just add some more kissy scenes, and I’m so here for it.


Also Grayson scenes. My baby was absent in this book. Where was he? Probably making out with a wall somewhere.

Me, I’m the wall.


Next on, the writing. Like come on, it made me understand a fraction of the riddles. I don't consider myself dumb exactly, but when it comes to smart stuff, I'm not exactly intelligent. And frankly, with these types of books, the… uh…how do I say this—overall puzzly thingies are not for Booksy Comprehension. I really was pleasantly surprised when reading because I was not entirely lost. Haha. I was there, I enjoyed it, I squealed, I screamed, ran with the characters, felt the wind hit my flushed face or rather the fan hit my sweaty-post-workout-cheeks. I appreciate and feel proud of authors anytime they can break down complex situations into pieces that anybody can understand, and by anybody I mean me. So as a closing note to this writing section, I must say that HOLY GUACAMOLE, IS HELL’S PATH OPEN TO EVERYBODY?!? HOW CAN ANYBODY DESCRIBE THINGS LIKE THIS?!


And now, unto the last puzzle piece to search for, because there’s always that one piece that hides beneath the counter until it’s found seventeen days later by the dog and chewed on until death. The characters. See what I did there? Death. As in, not supposed to come back from the dead.


Did anybody know of that in this book?


Anyhow, the main character. Avery something something something, is super smart, right? She got this inheritance that has caused more trouble than it’s worth—never mind, it’s totally worth it. And somehow, she still has her emotional baggage below in critical levels. How, you may ask? TREASURE HUNT, PEOPLE. More like, ghost hunt, but who cares about grammar? Definitely not me. Also, let’s not forget the whole escaping from murder thing, pfft. Totally cannot forget about that no no. You know what else cannot be forgotten?


The men in this book. HOW IS IT POSSIBLE TO MAKE EVERYBODY SO PERFECT YET NOT, BUT THAT MAKES THEM MORE PERFECT?!?


Grayson…


You


Own


Me


But for the time being, I’ll just slide over to Jameson. *hair flip*


Come on, y’all. I’m sorry… but the tub scene. The. Scene. Of course, it got ruined, but I don’t care.


I have loved both boys for such an incredible amount of time, you know? Grayson with his wall persona, Jameson with his flirty would-jump-off-a-cliff-for-fun personality. Frankly, Avery should end up with both. They level themselves out. (I cannot believe I just said that, never mind, I actually can) I loved Grayson more in the first book and Jameson more in this one. Am I like… an MC protagonist right now? Tee hee.


I honestly love both, and I cannot seem to stop this slight addiction with imagining how they would react if I were to suddenly pop out of a hat and be all, CAN ONE OF YOU KISS AVERY ALREADY. MY GOODNESS. I imagine they would appreciate it.


And finally, the things that made me cry and the things that made me fall madly off a loophole in the Universe.


a.) HANNAH AND HARRY. Yes. That’s it. Y’all know I’m such a sucker for betrayal, tragedy and overall sadness and torture. So their romance fit in nicely with it.


b.) ALL OF THE CHARACTERS IN THIS BOOK ARE SHIPPABLE. FIGHT ME ON THAT. Actually no, my feelings have been harnessed for rough interaction, but my body hasn’t.


On a closing note, this girl right here cannot wait to see what the heck happens in the third book! Because, literally, what else can happen? Please take that as a challenge. The plot was amazing, it hooked me and told me to sink to the bottom of the ocean in shookethness, the writing was great, the characters freaking wonderful and the third book? Haha, craving to be in my hands. So if you could just…


Hand it over.


Right about now.


It would be really appreciated.


HONORABLE MENTIONS:

  • The Tub Scene

  • Everything concerning riddles was made amazingly.

  • It made me feel smart, I can't-

  • Grayson

  • Jameson

  • Every brother

  • Every relationship