• Booktastically Amazing

Once Upon a K-Prom (Arc Review) ft. A daydreaming teabag

I'm still waiting... for my soulmate to fall at my feet-
Alive if possible.
If not, I can always carve another coffin.

 

Spoiler-Free Synopsis:


What would you do if the world's biggest K-pop star asked you to prom? Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon, this hilarious and heartfelt novel brings the glamour and drama of the K-pop world straight to high school.


Elena Soo has always felt overshadowed. Whether by her more successful older sisters, her more popular twin brother, or her more outgoing best friend, everyone except Elena seems to know exactly who they are and what they want. But she is certain about one thing - she has no interest in going to prom. While the rest of the school is giddy over corsages and dresses, Elena would rather spend her time working to save the local community center, the one place that's always made her feel like she belonged.


So when international K-pop superstar Robbie Choi shows up at her house to ask her to prom, Elena is more confused than ever. Because the one person who always accepted Elena as she is? Her childhood best friend, Robbie Choi. And the one thing she maybe, possibly, secretly wants more than anything? For the two of them to keep the promise they made each other as kids: to go to prom together. But that was seven years ago, and with this new K-pop persona, pink hair, and stylish clothes, Robbie is nothing like the sweet, goofy boy she remembers. The boy she shared all her secrets with. The boy she used to love.


Besides, prom with a guy who comes with hordes of screaming fans, online haters, and relentless paparazzi is the last thing Elena wants - even if she can't stop thinking about Robbie's smile...right?


 


Details of the book:


E-book, 338 pages

Expected publication: May 17th 2022 by Disney

Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult, Fiction, Asian Literature


 

~👑Special thanks to Netgalley for the ARC in exchange for an honest review!👑~


I should've accepted that marriage proposal.


Rating: ✨✨✨✨3.6

See, when one gets a 'Say Yes To The Ring' moment when one is in kindergarten, that immature, tiny, miniscule brain thinks 'oh, that's weird, let's run away'. While years later, that same immature, slightly larger, miniscule brain thinks, "I could've been a married lady by now, with a slightly-disturbed-because-the-kid-chased-me-all-around-the-fountain-while-viciously-holding-on-to-said-flower-ring to lovers trope, and sweat stains from running away as my reminder of it."


Frankly, I'm still wiping tears.


With a big chunk of ice to make myself suffer because why can't I have THIS-

I missed the opportunity, and it hunts me.

It doesn't, but I'll say it does for effect.

I may be emotionally spent and money less, but let's make it ~dramatic~


Being superficial for a second, that cover owns me.

It owns my mortgage, my life, my own Barbie collection- and while reading some corny/ slightly cheesy scenes that fit perfectly with the vibes of the book, I thought about being critical and judging everything...


But then I thought, let's be real, I'm never going to have this ish (unless the kid that chased me back then, still holds a burning candle for my arrival, which I doubt-) in real life, so I might as well enjoy it while it lasts.


Speaking of which, that brings me to the first topic of this ess- review (barely two days back in Hell, and I've already been hijacked), the fact that books like this give me hope for my celebrity meet-cute. AKA, the plot and storyline.

The book's pace itself was on steroids, most likely some hallucinogenic drug too- wait, maybe that was me, never mind. By page 20, the characters were already in each other's lives, by page 40, feelings were already present. By page 100 they probably swore never to be apart again- you know what I mean. Those kinds of steroids, and honestly? This mass of bad decisions was alllll here for it. I've been dying to read a celebrity/commoner book that's appropriate to mark as 'read' (cough) when people that share my own blood follow me- and this one was the perfect one!


Quick, light and basically a batch of whipped cream dumped on waffles.

Dang, now I'm hungry.

Which is also what this book made me feel.


For food, not uh... I'll shut up now.

Holy fire is needed in aisle 5


The storyline follows best friends that were separated when they were kids--one taken to stardom in the K-Pop industry, whilst the other strived to save a community center from closing down-- then suddenly Spy Boy comes back into the picture, and guess what? He rocks the MCs world.

...

......

I need a mental ice bath.

The puns are too frigid-

(I need help)


I liked that plot so much (not the ice bath one). Not too much to absolutely adore it, but I flew through it like a single-minded chipmunk.


Then, of course, we have the daydreaming portion where I envisioned V as the love interest for the whole book-

And I blushed.

Flushed (not the toilet)

And combusted.


But revived myself to finish this.


The characters themselves weren't that big of a deal. Superficial, sweet, if they died maybe I wouldn't have cried- BUT THAT'S OKAY. NOT EVERY BOOK HAS TO BREAK YOU, BOOKSY. HUSH YOURSELF


I really wanted to care more about them, you know? I wanted to see how they were beneath their masks and dance breaks.

They were more... fillers, I think.

We got the mean girls.

Sassy bff.

Annoying yet super hot brother.

More mean people.

The one friend that's not mean but not nice.

You know the gist-


The MC needs a thousand hugs, possibly a bottle of tequila, possibly a pillow fort and the words 'you're worth staying for' tattooed on her forehead. You have no idea how much I related to how she felt and the things she did when times seemed a little too difficult. Trust me, I gave up on the violin a loooong time ago because I didn't have a passion for it, and maybe I didn't. But perhaps I didn't want it because it got hard to do. And the fact that she went from journaling to music to art and didn't find the one that called to her made me feel not alone. We're teens, we don't have anything planned out, most of us don't know what the heck to do with life itself. And even if you're not a teen! Perhaps you're 88 (which is epic) and don't know what the complete purpose of your existence is. I've learned that just enjoying hobbies or studying the things you want to study is what makes living, better than existing for a single goal. And her character ARC was fabulous.

Mainly because the rest of the characters made her see what was going wrong, and I love THE COMMUNICATION-


Then we have the love interest-he- UGH, okay? (look at me using my words) That's really all. I wanted to squeeze the cuteness out of his bootiful self, bottle it up and spritz it every time I walked into a room. Disturbing visual? Yes.

We need to bury this man under 56789 pounds of cotton to preserve his precious innocence. Time and time again, his adorable self was too much to resist. If I were to rate him from 'Ew, what's that', to 'MARRY ME, LET'S HAVE OFFSPRING-', I would give him a solid 'you brighten up my day, you' next to 'I'll steal you away and place you in a lovable dungeon'


More on the like than in the love-basically this whole book.


The main event of this book, though, was (McDonald's outro) the romance! It was easy, sometimes not very easy because COMMUNICATION was not present (I have an innate dislike for that trope), but ultimately fun, loveable, perhaps shoveable too, sweet and quick. The atmosphere it created was not one of sizzling feasts, more like desserts served cold on a summer day. I had the issue of finding it was too fast for me to completely adore it, but I see why. Or at least what was the purpose of it. Childhood sweethearts meet again, disastrous Promposal, the holy duo of Rom- Coms everywhere.


It helps that I was eating Ice Cream while reading, not going to lie- *wink WINK*


The thing I least enjoyed, overall, was probably how easy every problem was fixed at the end. Because sometimes it takes time to recuperate a bond, to forgive years of fights or hatred. The fact that it was made so easy within the last 25 pages was a tad frustrating. I want to see the struggle, or even better, leave it open-ended! Life is not perfect, so why should familial or even romantic relationships strive to be so?


On a closing note, this is a book you can most likely read in under four hours. It's funny, fluffy, uncomplicated, painless (ahem, as every book you read should be, Booksy-) and above all, so flipping wholesome.


I'm still waiting for my ring, V.

You may be a little (COUGH) older than me, BUT I'LL SOON BE LEGAL-

JUST HOLD UP THE DANG AGING-

EVEN THOUGH YOU LOOK SO FINE STANDING THERE-


(P.S: To the boy who chased me with a flower ring, I want to tell you that even though I screamed bloody murder, you made me feel loved, and I hope someone makes you feel that way now.

Or, you know, give me a call-)


I wish you the sweetest bookish day!


HONORABLE MENTIONS:

  • The way I fell for every single guy in the group band, I thought I couldn't get more desperate-

  • Whee oooo, wheee oooo, ambulance is needed on that chapter-

  • Cavities are calling for help, right now.

  • Seriously, though, can I just hug these characters? Some I'll hug the neck. For extra leverage.


Are you excited about the book to come out already?