• Booktastically Amazing

January TBR// Books I've Read 'Till Now

Reading as quickly as Sonic before school drains my will to open a book.
And to do anything, really.
Eat.
Sleep.
Live-

Hello, deadly readers! I hope January hasn't destroyed your soul in such a level not even a good enemies to lovers can fix it.

And most importantly... I hope that insidious Goodreads reading challenge hasn't been stressing you out because I do it all the time. I put a goal that I'll have to fight to reach, and then ask myself why I look like an anxious corpse half the time.


I know for a fact that I probably won't read all of these (procrastination is so adorable, how can I not indulge it? Look at those cheeks) but I'm hoping for it!


Now let's dive in, I've been ignoring a certain book in my peripheral that's set on being my utter destruction.


 

Books I've sipped on / died over, so far


The Blood for Blood Trilogy:

Vendetta (Blood for Blood, #1) by Catherine Doyle | Goodreads

Inferno (Blood for Blood, #2) by Catherine Doyle | Goodreads

Mafiosa (Blood for Blood, #3) by Catherine Doyle | Goodreads


Why did I read it?

  • It's mafia, and I'm totally not sorry when I say that anything even midly violent is noticed by moi. I know Mafia is incredibly dangerous and totally not likeable IRL, but in my brain I divide it. The fictional mafia and the real icky one. The fictional one has the delish dudes, the warrior ladies, the vengeful plots and the enemies to lovers thing. Thus why I adore the fictional one, especially when the tension is just... wow.

  • I was craving something romantic but not overwhelmingly so. Meaning that I would've probably gone out to assassinate some prospects of my own if I was to read another 'we have a connection' type books. No you do not, stop.

  • The incredibly fast-paced, twisty, deathy (totally a word) scenes that occurred in the series made me read it in one sitting. Yep. I am now an emotional mess.

(full review coming soon!)


These Deadly Games

These Deadly Games by Diana Urban | Goodreads


Why did I read it?

  • I am a sucker for you- no. *clears throat to rid herself of music adoring alter ego* Let me try that again... I am a sucker for books that keep me guessing until the very end. That make me gasp, clutch my stomach as the butterflies there turn to vipers, and I was certain that this book would make it happen.

  • The whole 'game' plot really made me fall that much deeper into the obsessive reading catastrophe that I looked like at 2am.

  • THIS:

Let’s play a game.


You have 24 hours to win. If you break my rules, she dies. If you call the police, she dies. If you tell your parents or anyone else, she dies.


Are you ready?


I'm sorry, what?!? I am indeed not ready, nor will I ever be. Especially by trying to come up with the necessary words for the upcoming review. *wink wink*

I swear, I'm the queen of (un) subtle. Pfft


 

Books that I know I probably won't finish but still hold out hope that I will



1. Edgewood

Synopsis:


No matter how far she runs, the forest of Edgewood always comes for Emeline Lark. The scent of damp earth curls into her nose when she sings and moss creeps across the stage. It’s as if the woods of her childhood, shrouded in folklore and tall tales, are trying to reclaim her. But Emeline has no patience for silly superstitions.


When her grandfather disappears, leaving only a mysterious orb in his wake, the stories Emeline has always scoffed at suddenly seem less foolish. She enters the forest she has spent years trying to escape, only to have Hawthorne Fell, a handsome and brooding tithe collector, try to dissuade her from searching.


Refusing to be deterred, Emeline finds herself drawn to the court of the fabled Wood King himself. She makes a deal—her voice for her grandfather’s freedom. Little does she know, she’s stumbled into the middle of a curse much bigger than herself, one that threatens the existence of this eerie world she’s trapped in, along with the devastating boy who feels so familiar.


With the help of Hawthorne—an enemy turned reluctant ally who she grows closer to each day—Emeline sets out to not only save her grandfather’s life, but to right past wrongs, and in the process, discover her true voice.


Haunting and romantic, Kristen Ciccarelli's Edgewood is an exciting novel from a bold, unforgettable voice in fantasy.

I want to read this because:

~✨The ARC is currently trying to annihilate me.

~✨'enemy turned reluctant ally', um... need I say more?

~ ✨ I need more fantasy in my life, and this is incredibly up there with the 'haunting' and 'romantic' written there.


 

2. Defy The Night


Synopsis:


A fantasy series about a kingdom divided by corruption, the prince desperately holding it together, and the girl who will risk everything to bring it crashing down.


The kingdom of Kandala is on the brink of disaster. Rifts between sectors have only worsened since a sickness began ravaging the land, and within the Royal Palace, the king holds a tenuous peace with a ruthless hand.


King Harristan was thrust into power after his parents' shocking assassination, leaving the younger Prince Corrick to take on the brutal role of the King's Justice. The brothers have learned to react mercilessly to any sign of rebellion--it's the only way to maintain order when the sickness can strike anywhere, and the only known cure, an elixir made from delicate Moonflower petals, is severely limited.


Out in the Wilds, apothecary apprentice Tessa Cade is tired of seeing her neighbors die, their suffering ignored by the unyielding royals. Every night, she and her best friend Wes risk their lives to steal Moonflower petals and distribute the elixir to those who need it most--but it's still not enough.


As rumors spread that the cure no longer works and sparks of rebellion begin to flare, a particularly cruel act from the King's Justice makes Tessa desperate enough to try the impossible: sneaking into the palace. But what she finds upon her arrival makes her wonder if it's even possible to fix Kandala without destroying it first.

I want to read this because:

Firstly, the cover is gorgeous, and I already have a physical copy in my hands. (EEEK)

Secondly, the whole finding the cure for a plague is where it's at right now. (this did not age well, but okay)

Thirdly, whenever I see the words brutal and king in a synopsis, I'm instantly interested. I know, it's a problem)


 


2. These Violent Delights


Synopsis:


The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.


A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang—a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love…and first betrayal.


But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns—and grudges—aside and work together, for if they can’t stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.


Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

I want to read this because:

The whole Bookverse is obsessed. And by obsessed, I mean me in love with Jacks from Once Upon A Broken Heart obsessed. And I love them for it.

Since I read that one Shakespeare novel that traumatized me, I'm set on cleansing my brain of that (no offense) with a retelling!

Mix rival gangs, monsters, lovers to enemies to lovers and Booksy is dead on sight. Reading death, to be exact.



 

3. This Savage Song


Synopsis:


There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.


Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt, the pair must flee for their lives.

I want to read this because:

*whispering* Can you see a trend with my liking of books- Monsters, forbidden crushes... the WORKS.

I am infatuated with the whole monster steals souls by a strain of music.

The gray characters are just begging to be read and fangirled over. And guess what? I'm going to be one of those people-


 


What are some books on your TBR? My own is just too excited to adopt more books.

Right after making me explode-


Adios, and stay sassy, dear deadlings!


gif

(in the most lovable way)